David Cook

David Cook

Piano, Composition



Pianist/composer David Cook is a Brooklyn-based musician heavily invested in the New York jazz scene and beyond.

Originally from Columbus, Ohio, David attended the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he studied with Ellen Rowe, Barton Polot, Gerald Cleaver and the late Donald Walden. Upon moving to New York, he continued his studies with Bruce Barth, Fred Hersch and Kenny Werner.

David has Music-Directed and/or played for many notable singers, including Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Taylor Swift, Lizz Wright, Natasha Bedingfield, Marianne Faithfull, Academy Award-winner Jennifer Hudson, Shayna Steele, Darius DeHaas, Billy Porter and Utada Hikaru. He has played in small groups led by bassists Francois Moutin, Michael Blanco and Nicholas D’Amato, guitarists Greg Howe, Scott Sharrard and Al Street, saxophonists Arun Luthra, Bob Reynolds and Mark Small as well as drummer Sunny Jain. He has played in larger ensembles led by trombonist Alan Ferber, big bands led by Asuka Kakatani and JC Sanford, and Travis Sullivan’s Bjorkestra.

In 2010, David released his first cd as a leader on the BJU record label. “Pathway” represents a move forward after years of sideman work in New York, nationally and internationally. Produced by jazz piano great Bruce Barth, featuring Matt Clohesy on bass and Mark Ferber on drums, “Pathway” is a collection of original works written for modern piano trio.

In 2008, David was selected to represent the United States in the American Music Abroad program with the band Exegesis, sponsored by Jazz at Lincoln Center and the U.S. State Department. The ensemble traveled to Bahrain, Yemen, Oman, the United Arab Emirates and Kuwait over the course of 5 weeks, giving performance and clinics to audiences across the region.

Some of the musicians that David has recorded or performed with include Obed Calvaire, Dennis Chambers, Jay Collins, Quincy Davis, Shane Endsley, John Ellis, Nir Felder, Tomas Fujiwara, Janek Gwizdala, Paul Keller, Pete McCann, Donny McCaslin, John O’Gallagher, Ulysses Owens, Rich Perry, Lew Soloff and Victor Wooten, among others.


Go to Top